Regular price: $35.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $35.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An icon remembered as vividly in death as she appeared in life, Diana, Princess of Wales, is one of the most enduring personalities of the 20th century, and one of the most enigmatic. Admired, almost worshipped, a forceful presence in society and fashion and a devoted mother, she was also plagued by rumor and scandal throughout her brief life. Using exclusive new interviews and eyewitness testimony, Sarah Bradford now casts aside the gossip and lies to separate myth from truth. Diana follows her old-fashioned courtship by the Prince of Wales, as the world began aiming its cameras at the entrancing princess-bride. Drawing on fresh interviews with those close to Diana, some of whom have never spoken on the record before, Bradford sheds new light on the collapse of the marriage once hailed as the ultimate fairy tale. She examines Diana's lovers and her relationships with staff, friends, and family, as well as her profound commitment to charity. Finally, she documents Diana's struggle to find an identity after her seperation from Charles, her final complicated year as a single woman, and the world's overwhelming reaction to her death.
Sympathetic but clear-eyed, with the authority missing from all previous accounts, acclaimed royal biographer Sarah Bradford delivers a complex and striking study of one of the most popular figures of the 20th century.
©2006 Sarah Bradford (P)2006 Penguin Audio, a member of Peguin Group (USA) Inc. All rights reserved
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

Audie Award Finalist, Biography/Memoir, 2007
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Susan on 02-19-17


The saddest story you'll ever read. A little too Pro-Charles for me but overall a good book.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By kathleen on 09-21-17

A dignified historical account of the Princess.

This book seems to because full and true biography of an amazing woman straddling her role in an antiquated system and herself, her roles in a traditional society and as a catalyst for great humanitarian effects in the modern world.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc