Dead Reckoning

  • by Dave Atcheson
  • Narrated by Sean Runnette
  • 6 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This is the true story of a journey to a seaside town and the always unpredictable torrent of dark escapades that accompany a life at sea. It's a story of a world peopled by those who often live on the frayed edges of society, who shun the world in which most people thrive. It's a story in which college students and "fish hippies" work in canneries alongside survivalists, rednecks, religious freaks, and deckhands with damning secrets in dangerous waters, driven by the need to feed an insatiable appetite for adventure.
This is the heart of the world Atcheson found himself in at the age of eighteen. Having never even seen the ocean, he took his first job on the Lancer with Darwin Wood, a man so confounding, so complex and so frightening, that it's hard to believe Atcheson walked away from that job unscathed. Forced to buddy up with a murderer in order to cope, Atcheson began to question his deeply ingrained ideas of success and status. The resulting conflict would finally resolve itself fifteen years later, in the least likely of places: On the Bering Sea, aboard a boat in peril, during a night of terror that would reshape the lives of everyone involved.
Reminiscent of The Perfect Storm and Into the Wild, Dead Reckoning is not only an intimate look at life at sea, but also an insider's view into one of Alaska's small communities, and the myriad of upstarts, dropouts, and rogues that color its landscape.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Love the Sean Runnette Voice. His voice just added to the Great writing. It will Keep you on the edge of your seat. I hope Author writes more Books and Uses Sean.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

This book reminds you of how good your life may be!

There are dangers in some people's lives that never will appear in your own life. This book takes you to the place in your mind where you say: Holycow! I may have to rethink my humdrum existence and start walking closer to the edge of life! Time does fly, you know!
Read full review

- Patricia

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-01-2014
  • Publisher: Audible Studios