Crooked Brooklyn

  • by Jerry Schmetterer, Michael Vecchione
  • Narrated by Joe Barrett
  • 6 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From 2001 to 2013, Michael Vecchione was chief of the Rackets Division in the Brooklyn District Attorney's Office, which was the largest urban prosecution agency in the country. Vecchione grappled with organized crime and dirty politicians, during which he supervised, investigated, and prosecuted major felony cases.
Crooked Brooklyn is a gritty story of corruption, greed, and law enforcement. Vecchione navigated a political minefield and expertly rose to the judicial challenges of directing investigations into a wide variety of crimes, from bribe-taking judges to cold-blooded killers. He was responsible for taking down three state Supreme Court judges, one of the most powerful political bosses in the country, two cops who worked as assassins for the Mafia, and a corrupt oral surgeon who was secretly selling bones from the recently deceased to medical supply companies. Unbelievable and unforgettable, Crooked Brooklyn is a story that will appeal to fans of Law & Order, readers and listeners of true crime, and those hungry for details about the system that keeps us safe.

More

What the Critics Say

"A gritty real life view from the front lines." (Nicholas Pileggi, author of Wiseguy: Life in a Mafia Family)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

one of the best books I have read in a long time .

this is the second book I have listen to. I enjoyed the entire book. living and growing up in the new York metropolitan area I found this books accounts accurate but yet entertaining. I can't wait to read his next book .
Read full review

- Angelo Frangipane

Good stories but...

Overall I would like to say that I liked the book, Crooked Brooklyn. My only issue with the story is the length. The book has some very interesting stories and people but I feel like most of them are brushed over. This book almost seemed like an abridged version. Maybe M.V. Is saving the in-depth stories for another book.
Read full review

- AJ Zous

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-17-2015
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio