Cook County ICU

  • by Cory Franklin, MD
  • Narrated by John Pruden
  • 7 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Filled with stories of strange medical cases and unforgettable patients culled from a 30-year career in medicine, Cook County ICU offers listeners a peek into the inner workings of a hospital. Author Cory Franklin, MD, who headed the hospital's intensive care unit from the 1970s through the 1990s, shares his most unique and bizarre experiences, including the deadly Chicago heatwave of 1995, treating the first AIDS patients in the country before the disease was diagnosed, the nurse with rare Munchausen syndrome, the only surviving ricin victim, and the professor with Alzheimer's hiding the effects of the wrong medication. Surprising, darkly humorous, heartwarming, and sometimes tragic, these stories provide a big-picture look at how the practice of medicine has changed over the years, making it a must-listen for patients, doctors, and anyone with an interest in medicine.


What the Critics Say

"Franklin provides an excellent firsthand perspective on life in the medical trenches." (Booklist)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Subtle, funny and compassionate

Doctor Franklin explains through stories of patients and himself or his colleagues, how Medicine has devolved from a covenant between patient and doctor, to a business, in which everybody is treated like "corn or coal". The writing is serene, but the subject makes the good doctor furious, and with a good reason. The hospitals where he once learned and practiced, places where doctors were proud of the virtue their trade represented, are now places where only one thing matters: money.
What a great read/listen. John Pruden does a good job of telling it all.
Read full review

- Clara R. Arechiga

Very impressive..

Made me laugh a lot, even though im not in the medical field, I have found this book exciting and had to listen in one sitting.. Definitely recommend it..
Read full review

- Andrey Borul

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-22-2016
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio