Breaking Free

  • by Herschel Walker
  • Narrated by Andre Teamer
  • 7 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In Breaking Free, Herschel tells his story - from the joys and hardships of childhood to his explosive impact on college football to his remarkable professional career. And he gives voice and hope to those suffering from DID. Herschel shows how this disorder played an integral role in his accomplishments and how he has learned to live with it today. His compelling account testifies to the strength of the human spirit and its ability to overcome any challenge.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

For Sports Fans Only

Not what I expected from a book purportedly about life with DID, this memoir provided tons of detail about how to become a great athlete after being an overweight child who suffered the taunts and physical attacks of schoolmates in the rural South. Disappointingly sparing were any details about Mr. Walker's actual experiences with dissociation and the consequences of it. Perhaps this was the author's Intent -- to write a book about devotion to physical fitness and Christianity -- but it leaves readers almost clueless about what it is like to live as a person diagnosed with the largely misunderstood condition of dissociative identity disorder. On the other hand, if you're looking/listening for a motivational story with this author's biases, you will likely enjoy the book.
Read full review

- Karen P. Smith

I appreciate this book

I found this book very insightful and inspirational. Thank you for sharing your story. It is wonderful to see your perspective as one who has had to deal with DID from the perspective of a fellow human being and Christian. I gained valuable insights I hope will help me overcome my own personal challenges in my life. Perhaps more valuable, I will hopefully see and treat people who suffer from the myriad of mental and other illnesses with greater love, patience, and compassion.
Read full review


Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-26-2009
  • Publisher: Oasis Audio