Boy Erased

  • by Garrard Conley
  • Narrated by Michael Crouch
  • 8 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A beautiful, raw, and compassionate memoir about identity, love, and understanding.
The son of a Baptist pastor and deeply embedded in church life in small-town Arkansas, as a young man Garrard Conley was terrified and conflicted about his sexuality. When Garrard was a 19-year-old college student, he was outed to his parents and was forced to make a life-changing decision: either agree to attend a church-supported conversion therapy program that promised to "cure" him of homosexuality or risk losing family, friends, and the god he had prayed to every day of his life. Through an institutionalized twelve-step program heavy on Bible study, he was supposed to emerge heterosexual, ex-gay, cleansed of impure urges and stronger in his faith in God for his brush with sin. Instead, even when faced with a harrowing and brutal journey, Garrard found the strength and understanding to break out in search of his true self and forgiveness.
By confronting his buried past and the burden of a life lived in shadow, Garrard traces the complex relationships among family, faith, and community. At times heartbreaking, at times triumphant, this memoir is a testament to love that survives despite all odds.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Powerful memoir

This is a beautifully written memoir, powerfully moving, and ably narrated,. Conley's coming of age account has significance for anyone, regardless of sexual orientation. It is about the journey into adulthood, the struggle with religious authority that is based in fear and and rejection, but the quiet and ongoing "victory" that is possible even if painful.
Read full review

- Paul Bube

Powerful and Important

This is such an important story and a testament to why we need to ban "conversion" therapy. Some parts will be hard to listen to, but power through because this memoir is a must read/listen.
Read full review

- Robin Graber

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-10-2016
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio