• by Darren Henley
  • Narrated by Marin Alsop
  • 0 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This is a story from the Famous Composers collection.
Following on the success of The Story of Classical Music, Darren Henley and Marin Alsop combine forces again to tell, in more detail, the lives of six key composers: Bach, Vivaldi, Mozart, Beethoven, Dvorak, and Shostakovich. Their colourful lives and their love of music are told against the backdrop of some of their finest works, an ideal combination.


Audible Editor Reviews

David Henley provides a delightful mix of biography and music lesson in this profile of German composer Ludwig van Beethoven, a selection from the collection Famous Composers. A dramatization of Beethoven's difficult childhood, complete with a demanding father who forced his son to play the piano, shows how Beethoven developed his love and mastery of the piano. Throughout, Marin Alsop uses a relaxed style that proves amiable to neophytes of Beethoven's work, and her demeanor is educational even as it is informal. The inclusion of some of Beethoven's famous pieces, like "Moonlight Sonata" and "Fur Elise", makes this a complete experience.


What the Critics Say

2005 Audie Award Winner, Original Work
2005 Audie Award Winner, Original Work


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-04-2013
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks