Beer Money

  • by Frances Stroh
  • Narrated by Erin Bennett
  • 6 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Rich Cohen's Sweet and Low and Sean Wilsey's Oh the Glory of It All, a memoir of a city, an industry, and a dynasty in decline, and the story of a young artist's struggle to find her way out of the ruins.
Frances Stroh's earliest memories are ones of great privilege: shopping trips to London and New York, lunches served by black-tied waiters at the Regency Hotel, and a house filled with precious antiques, which she was forbidden to touch. Established in Detroit in 1850, by 1984 the Stroh Brewing Company had become the largest private beer fortune in America and a brand emblematic of the American dream itself; while Stroh was coming of age, the Stroh family fortune was estimated to be worth $700 million.
But behind the beautiful fa├žade lay a crumbling foundation. Detroit's economy collapsed with the retreat of the automotive industry to the suburbs and abroad, and the Stroh family found their wealth and legacy disappearing. As their fortune dissolved in a little over a decade, the family was torn apart internally by divorce and one family member's drug bust; disagreements over the management of the business; and disputes over the remaining money they possessed. Even as they turned against one another, looking for a scapegoat on whom to blame the unraveling of their family, they could not anticipate that even far greater tragedy lay in store.
Stroh's memoir is elegantly spare in structure and mercilessly clear-eyed in its self-appraisal - at once a universally relatable family drama and a great American story.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Memoire but no real look at the wealth

This book seemed to be a cathartic story for the author but not as interesting as I thought it would be. A sad family. She is a lovely person and the performance was very good.
Read full review

- barbara

Detroit truths

Wow France's - you are quite an author.
I am from the Detroit area so I really get this book. I am from France's generations so I really get her. While I remember hearing the story of the strohs demise I never realized the lives it impacted. Francis Stroh is a beautiful soul and true kind survivor. I've always said inherited money is 50% blessing and 50% curse, this book proved that. I
really enjoyed her story and her writing and will certainly look for more work from her. God bless you and the Stroh family.
Read full review

- Joe Hampton

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-03-2016
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.