Regular price: $20.97

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $20.97

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Rich Cohen's Sweet and Low and Sean Wilsey's Oh the Glory of It All, a memoir of a city, an industry, and a dynasty in decline, and the story of a young artist's struggle to find her way out of the ruins.
Frances Stroh's earliest memories are ones of great privilege: shopping trips to London and New York, lunches served by black-tied waiters at the Regency Hotel, and a house filled with precious antiques, which she was forbidden to touch. Established in Detroit in 1850, by 1984 the Stroh Brewing Company had become the largest private beer fortune in America and a brand emblematic of the American dream itself; while Stroh was coming of age, the Stroh family fortune was estimated to be worth $700 million.
But behind the beautiful façade lay a crumbling foundation. Detroit's economy collapsed with the retreat of the automotive industry to the suburbs and abroad, and the Stroh family found their wealth and legacy disappearing. As their fortune dissolved in a little over a decade, the family was torn apart internally by divorce and one family member's drug bust; disagreements over the management of the business; and disputes over the remaining money they possessed. Even as they turned against one another, looking for a scapegoat on whom to blame the unraveling of their family, they could not anticipate that even far greater tragedy lay in store.
Stroh's memoir is elegantly spare in structure and mercilessly clear-eyed in its self-appraisal - at once a universally relatable family drama and a great American story.
©2016 Frances Stroh (P)2016 Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By barbara on 08-07-16

Memoire but no real look at the wealth

This book seemed to be a cathartic story for the author but not as interesting as I thought it would be. A sad family. She is a lovely person and the performance was very good.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful


By Joe Hampton on 05-10-16

Detroit truths

Wow France's - you are quite an author.
I am from the Detroit area so I really get this book. I am from France's generations so I really get her. While I remember hearing the story of the strohs demise I never realized the lives it impacted. Francis Stroh is a beautiful soul and true kind survivor. I've always said inherited money is 50% blessing and 50% curse, this book proved that. I
really enjoyed her story and her writing and will certainly look for more work from her. God bless you and the Stroh family.

Read More Hide me

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2017 Audible, Inc