• by Darren Henley
  • Narrated by Marin Alsop
  • 0 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This is a story from the Famous Composers collection.
Following on the success of The Story of Classical Music, Darren Henley and Marin Alsop combine forces again to tell, in more detail, the lives of six key composers: Bach, Vivaldi, Mozart, Beethoven, Dvorak, and Shostakovich. Their colourful lives and their love of music are told against the backdrop of some of their finest works, an ideal combination.


Audible Editor Reviews

David Henley profiles the life and career of the German composer Johann Sebastian Bach in this selection from his Famous Composers collection. Aimed at young listeners and novices alike, Henley crafts a gripping narrative of interesting tidbits from Bach's life that segues nicely into examples of Bach's work. The backstories behind certain pieces will be particularly illuminating. Marin Alsop keeps with Henley's easygoing tone with a casually informative tone that seems to revel in Bach's work. Her genial attitude is infectious, making this biography both fun and educational.


What the Critics Say

2005 Audie Award Winner, Original Work
2005 Audie Award Winner, Original Work


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-05-2013
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks