An Exact Replica of a Figment of My Imagination

  • by Elizabeth McCracken
  • Narrated by Elizabeth McCracken
  • 3 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

"This is the happiest story in the world with the saddest ending," writes Elizabeth McCracken in her powerful, inspiring memoir. A prize-winning, successful novelist in her 30s, McCracken was happy to be an itinerant writer and self-proclaimed spinster. But suddenly she fell in love, got married, and two years ago was living in a remote part of France, working on her novel, and waiting for the birth of her first child.This audiobook is about what happened next. In her ninth month of pregnancy, she learned that her baby boy had died. How do you deal with and recover from this kind of loss? Of course you don't - but you go on. And if you have ever experienced loss or love someone who has, you will hope to go on with the help and company of this remarkable audiobook.With humor and heart and unfailing generosity, McCracken considers the nature of love, and grief. She opens her heart and leaves all of ours the richer for it.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Grief and loss explored and shared.

Any additional comments?

This powerful book delves deeply into the very personal experience of hope and excitement of pregnancy and then the subsequent loss of that hope. The story will speak directly to anyone who has lost a child. The author's experience is so true and heartrendingly told that it takes on a universal quality. It will ring true and put words to the tragedy many people experience. Beautifully written.

Read full review

- Sara "Avid Reader"

Sad but Hopeful

I like the idea of a memoir based on a specific event or period of time in one's life.

This memoir deals with a sensitive and emotional subject but just when I thought I could not absorb any more sadness the author pulls together the broken threads of her life into a new fabric of acceptance and redemption.
Read full review

- Pamela Harvey "glam"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-10-2008
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio