Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The hilarious, poignant, and true story of one teen's experience growing up in America as an undocumented immigrant from the Middle East, perfect for fans of Mindy Kaling and Lena Dunham's books.
At 13, bright-eyed straight-A student Sara Saedi uncovered a terrible family secret: She was breaking the law simply by living in the United States. Only two years old when her parents fled Iran, she didn't learn of her undocumented status until her older sister wanted to apply for an after-school job but couldn't because she didn't have a Social Security number.
Fear of deportation kept Sara up at night, but it didn't keep her from being a teenager. She desperately wanted a green card, along with clear skin, her own car, and a boyfriend.
Americanized follows Sara's progress toward getting her green card, but that's only a portion of her experiences as an Iranian "American" teenager. From discovering that her parents secretly divorced to facilitate her mother's green card application to learning how to tame her unibrow, Sara pivots gracefully from the terrifying prospect that she might be kicked out of the country at any time to the almost as terrifying possibility that she might be the only one of her friends without a date to the prom. This moving, often hilarious story is for anyone who has ever shared either fear.
©2018 Sara Saedi (P)2018 Audible, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By L. Roberson on 06-01-18

Enjoyable Listen

The dichotomy of Sara's life in the U.S. was interesting as she was both privileged (plastic surgery as a birthday present???) but faced citizenship issues due to government bureaucracy. The narrator's tone was laced with a little too much sarcasm and dampened the empathy I probably would have if I read it myself.

Read More Hide me
3 out of 5 stars
By Arnie Layne on 04-26-18

Nice until it got tribal/political

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

Good to see another Iranian having the same experience. Very well written and funny.

What about Lameece Issaq’s performance did you like?

Pretty decent attempt at pronouncing Farsi.

Do you think Americanized needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

Nope.

Any additional comments?

Stay away from politics. I had a high opinion of the writer's intelligence until she got to simple-minded left-wing interpretations of the world. Silly.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc