All Things Wise and Wonderful : All Creatures Great and Small

  • by James Herriot
  • Narrated by Christopher Timothy
  • Series: All Creatures Great and Small
  • 15 hrs and 0 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In this third enchanting collection of stories, James Herriot, the world's most beloved veterinarian, picks up where All Things Bright and Beautiful left off: World War II has begun, and James has been inducted into the RAF. We see him at training camp and we go back with him to Yorkshire - on real trips as he breaks away to see Helen, who is about to have a baby, and on trips of reverie as he recalls the dales, the animals, and the Yorkshire people who have so enriched his life. We meet old friends again - his partner Siegfried, the zany Tristan, the bon vivant Granville Bennett - and scores of new folk, each with a story to tell. James Herriot is back and, as one reviewer said of his work, "If ever you have loved a friend, human or otherwise, these stories are for you."


What the Critics Say

"...humor, realism, sensitivity, earthiness...gentle compassion and a lively sense of the sad, the ridiculous, and the admirable." (Columbus Dispatch)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Excellent story, Poor editing

I love the James Herriot books, and this one is a favorite. Christopher Timothy does a great job as the narrator. However, in the middle of Chapter 50, the story changes completely, and then the end of the book is in the middle of chapter 55! Then it takes up where it left off in Chapter 50. Editors, where are you?
Read full review

- Sheila A. Sherwin

The best in Classics

This and all of the books by James Herriot are supreme examples of the wonder of Human compassion and love for creatures other than humans. They are all warm and inviting and appeal to ones sense of decency and love of life. All of his books are unique and in a category of their own - unsurpassed, superb, totally enjoyable from the first page to the last. I think they should be required reading for everyone!!!!
Read full review

- C. McCoy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-05-2001
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio