Alan Bennett

  • by Alan Bennett
  • Narrated by Alan Bennett
  • 2 hrs and 29 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Untold Stories, Alan Bennett's first major collection of prose since his best-selling Writing Home, brings together the finest and funniest of his writing over the last 10 years. Two recordings feature selected material from Untold Stories:Part 1: Stories contains the title piece, and Part 2: The Diaries covers Alan Bennett's much-celebrated diaries for 1997-2004. Stories is a poignant family memoir recalling the marriage of Alan's parents, the lives and deaths of his aunts, and the uncovering of a long-held family secret. At times heartrending, and at others extremely funny, Untold Stories is a matchless and unforgettable journey into Alan Bennett's past.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Surprisingly Great

I'm not sure I really knew who Alan Bennett was until I listened to (and saw the excellent movie of) his wonderful play, The Lady in the Van (Maggie Smith). I still would likely never have searched for his Stories if not for Audible's free Juliet Stevenson interview. In that interview, Stevenson, asked to name her family's most beloved audiobooks, immediately and without hesitation names the Stories of Alan Bennett. I immediately acquired this volume, and now I see why Stevenson's family finds them indispensable. WOW. Like TLITV, these are true stories (in this volume, specifically concerning the author's zany family), fascinatingly brought to life by Bennett's masterful narration. Bennett has a mildly dour, ruefully wry delivery; he's sort of a British Garrison Keillor, only more sparklingly intelligent, deadpan, dry-witted, and hilarious. I've already bought and begun listening to Volume 2, which is even funnier. Highly recommended for Anglophiles who want something fun to listen to on the road or while doing chores. Side benefit: Listening to these stories may inspire you to write up your own family's stories for posterity!
Read full review

- Gretchen SLP

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-12-2005
  • Publisher: BBC Worldwide Limited