• Alan Bennett

  • Untold Stories Part 4: A Common Assault
  • By: Alan Bennett
  • Narrated by: Alan Bennett
  • Length: 2 hrs and 24 mins
  • Abridged
  • Release date: 09-13-06
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: BBC Worldwide Limited
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars 4.7 (10 ratings)

Regular price: $15.49

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $15.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Untold Stories, Alan Bennett's first major collection of prose since his bestselling Writing Home, brings together the finest and funniest of his writing over the last ten years. After Untold Stories: Part 1: Stories, Part 2: The Diaries and Part 3: Written on the Body (all available from BBC Audiobooks), Part 4: A Common Assault contains two more reminiscences from Bennett's life and an essay on the class system. A Common Assault describes an incident in Italy when he was mugged, and found himself trying to give a statement to the police in bad Italian. The History Boys harks back once more to Bennett's time at school, and shows how the raw material of experience was eventually transformed into the highly-acclaimed stage play The History Boys. Arise, Sir..., finishes on a light-hearted note, in which Bennett muses on the Honours List in typically iconoclastic mode. Alan Bennett's television series Talking Heads has become a modern-day classic, as have many of his works for the stage, including Forty Years On, The Lady in the Van, The Madness of George III (together with the Oscar-nominated screenplay The Madness of King George) and an adaptation of The Wind in the Willows. The History Boys won the Evening Standard and Critics' Circle awards for Best Play, the Laurence Olivier Award for Best New Play, the South Bank Award and six Tony Awards.
©2006 BBC Audiobooks Ltd; (P)BBC Audiobooks LTD
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Jeff on 07-19-15

Like No Other

Words fail. If you have not read Alan Bennett then what a void about that is filled only by reading any one, or all, of his works, There is nobody else quite like him.

Read More Hide me

2 of 4 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Gretchen SLP on 05-06-17

Assault Story is a Must Listen...

...especially in these pre-enlightenment times, when gay-bashing and discrimination are still so pervasive worldwide that a story like this can be true. Poor Alan; he's lucky and we're lucky he wasn't killed!! And such shameful treatment on the part of hospital staff and the police! Horrible. I felt like sending the author a get-well card and a bouquet of flowers, but he's obviously healed up nicely, since he was able to write this detailed accounting.

The remaining stories are not nearly as memorable, but I'm still glad to have heard this fourth and (I think) final volume in the series.

Read More Hide me

4 of 11 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc