Regular price: $0.00

Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 0 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Back in print in an all-new edition is the engaging and illuminating chronicle of the life of the "Queen of Mystery". Fans of Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple and readers of John Curran’s fascinating biographies Agatha Christie’s Secret Notebooks and Murder in the Making will be spellbound by the compelling, authoritative account of one of the world’s most influential and fascinating novelists, told in her own words and inimitable style - and here in her own voice. These audio excerpts were dictated by Agatha Christie herself.
The New York Times Book Review called Christie’s autobiography a "joyful adventure," saying, "she brings the sense of wonder... to her extraordinary career."
©1977 Agatha Christie Limited (P)2010 Agatha Christie Archive Trust
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Kristi Richardson on 07-09-14

The author explains her process!

This is not your typical autobiography. It's more of a history on when and why she wrote her different books and plays. The unique thing for this is she reads it herself.

You can tell she is a very private person because there is little on her personal life in this story. It's really a textbook on how to write a book and how it worked for her.

For anyone who is a fan of Mrs. Christie's this is a fun book. Miss Marple is NOT her grandmother although a lot of characteristics they share, including a second sense that something is going to happen.

She also talks about her favorite books she's written: Absent in the Spring by Mary Westmacott (her pseudonym). That particular book she wrote the first chapter, than the last chapter and continued to write it in one day with no sleep. She than slept for 24 hours straight and the next day she read and made very few changes. She said she loved that experience but didn't know she could survive another one.

This is a good short listen and well worth your time if you are an admirer of her work.

Read More Hide me

7 of 7 people found this review helpful


By Duane Bolton on 11-18-12

Authentic recording

This recording was an authentic recording from Agatha Christie, and if you focus on that fact, you will enjoy her. Yes, the hissing and bad recording are a bit annoying, so the quality and comfort are not polished, but knowing it was directly from Agatha Christie should count for something, without the editing and polishing. I enjoyed hearing from her in her own words though, so the performance from her was very valuable to me.

Read More Hide me

13 of 14 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2017 Audible, Inc