A Speck in the Sea

  • by John Aldridge, Anthony Sosinski
  • Narrated by Robert Fass, Fred Berman
  • 6 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the dead of night on July 24, 2013, John Aldridge was thrown off the back of the Anna Mary while his fishing partner, Anthony Sosinski, slept below. As desperate hours ticked by, Sosinski, the families, the local fishing community, and the US Coast Guard in three states mobilized in an unprecedented search effort that culminated in a rare and exhilarating success.
A tale of survival, perseverance, and community, A Speck in the Sea tells of one man's struggle to survive as friends and strangers work separately and together to bring him home. Aldridge's wrenching first-person account intertwines with the narrative of the massive, constantly evolving rescue operation designed to save him.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A great story with an even greater ending.

A Speck in the Sea is well written and suspenseful. The multiple narrators do an amazing job of pulling you into the story. It's amazing to see how the two communities that John was apart of rallied when they heard that he was missing. Both his fellow fishermen and the people of the small town where he grew up were they to offer any assistance they could. A big thanks to the men and women of the USCG for coordinating such a valiant effort to bring John home.
Read full review

- jer361

Excellent weaving of many stories

What made the experience of listening to A Speck in the Sea the most enjoyable?

Many people were touched by this event. The story weaves in their perspective giving you a chance to connect with these people and their experience. This messes with the timeline, as you have to go back in time to pick up where they began to be touched. Nonetheless it works well and deepens your connection to the loved ones while learning their story of "what happened."

Who was your favorite character and why?

John Aldridge

Read full review

- K. Eymann

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-23-2017
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio