A Mind at Play

  • by Rob Goodman, Jimmy Soni
  • Narrated by Jonathan Yen
  • 11 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Claude Shannon was a tinkerer, a playful wunderkind, a groundbreaking polymath, and a digital pioneer whose insights made the Information Age possible. He constructed fire-breathing trumpets and customized unicycles, outfoxed Vegas casinos, and built juggling robots, but he also wrote the seminal text of the Digital Revolution. That work allowed scientists to measure and manipulate information as objectively as any physical object. His work gave mathematicians and engineers the tools to bring that world to pass.
Now, Jimmy Soni and Rob Goodman bring Claude Shannon's story to life. It's the story of a small-town boy from Michigan whose career stretched from the age of room-sized computers powered by gears and string to the age of the Apple desktop. It's the story of the origins of information in the tunnels of MIT and the "idea factory" of Bell Labs, in the "scientists' war" with Nazi Germany, and in the work of Shannon's collaborators and rivals. It's the story of Shannon's life as an often reclusive, always playful genius. With access to Shannon's family and friends, A Mind at Play explores the life and times of this singular innovator and creative genius.


What the Critics Say

"Lucid and fascinating...Soni and Goodman open an engrossing window onto what a mind hard at work can do." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Top Shelf Book

A life of a modest scientist and one of the greatest thinkers! I believe that every school should teach Shannon and Feynman biographies
Read full review

- Ibrahim

Fascinating in-depth look at Shannon

If you are intrigued by the mentions of Shannon in "The Idea Factory" and "The Information" you will appreciate and enjoy the depth of focus upon his life, work, and play. But for him, were those really three separate things?
Read full review

- Paul D Lindgren

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-18-2017
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio