A House Full of Daughters

  • by Juliet Nicolson
  • Narrated by Julie Teal
  • 9 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A family memoir that traces the myths, legends, and secrets of seven generations of remarkable women.
All families have their myths and legends. For many years Juliet Nicolson accepted hers: the dangerous beauty of her flamenco dancing great-great-grandmother, Pepita; the flirty manipulation of her great-grandmother, Victoria; the infamous eccentricity of her grandmother, Vita Sackville-West; her mother's Tory-conventional background. But then Juliet, a distinguished historian, started to question. As she did so, she sifted fact from fiction, uncovering details and secrets long held just out of sight.
A House Full of Daughters takes us through seven generations of women. In the 19th-century slums of Malaga; the salons of fin-de-siecle Washington, DC; an English boarding school during the Second World War; Chelsea in the 1960s; the knife-edge that was New York City in the 1980s - these women emerge for Juliet as people in their own right, but also as part of who she is and where she has come from.
A House Full of Daughters is one woman's investigation into the nature of family, memory, and the past. As Juliet finds uncomfortable patterns reflected in these distant and more recent versions of herself, she realizes her challenge is to embrace the good and reject the hazards that have trapped past generations.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

I wanted to love This

I wanted to enjoy this book - I am fascinated by family and how both internal and external circumstances shape one generation or another.
But I found the author interjected herself jarringly in places, and the narrator (who I have previously enjoyed) had little or no dialogue in the first 90 minutes to showcase her true talent.
I picked up and put down this book several times, and I can't decide what it is, specifically, that makes me disinterested...
Read full review

- Daryl

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-14-2016
  • Publisher: Random House Audio