Regular price: $29.65

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $29.65

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Based on all-new interviews, Trouble Boys: The True Story of the Replacements is the definitive "boigraphy" of one of the last great rock 'n' roll bands of the 20th century. Written with the participation of the group's key members, including reclusive singer-songwriter Paul Westerberg, bassist Tommy Stinson, and the family of late guitarist Bob Stinson, Trouble Boys is a deeply intimate and nuanced portrait, exposing the primal factors and forces - addiction, abuse, fear - that would shape one of the most brilliant and notoriously self-destructive bands of all time.
Based on a decade of research and reporting and hundreds of interviews (with family, friends, managers, producers, and musical colleagues) as well as full access to the Replacements' archives at Twin/Tone and Warner Bros. Records, author Bob Mehr has fashioned something far more compelling than a conventional band bio.
A roaring rock 'n' roll adventure, a heartrending family drama, and a cautionary showbiz tale, Trouble Boys is a penetrating work of biography and a major addition to the rock book canon.
©2016 Bob Mehr (P)2017 Hachette Audio
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"An in-depth biography of a beloved, exasperating band that never quite made it.... [An] impressively researched and well-rendered biography.... The dynamic that made the band great also tore them apart, as this biography superbly documents." ( Publishers Weekly)
"The definitive bio of the Replacements... Trouble Boys brings the band back to life. Over six years, Mehr interviewed more than 200 people, creating a narrative thick with detail, revelations and emotion." ( Rolling Stone)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By j fid on 06-29-17

Oh Sister!

I read this book when it first came out, but I so desperately wanted it in audible format that I sent the author an email begging him to hurry up about it.

Mehr completely fulfilled my wish by choosing the only woman on earth who could do this book justice to read it with all the grit, spit, pathos, bathos and love that it deserves.

Mary Lucia is Paul's sister. She's also our own favorite DJ in the Twin Cities. Her reading about herself being the subject of Achin' to Be made me cry!

Please stop reading this review and go download the Audible version. You'll be so glad you did.

\m/ \m/

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Anthony Zotti on 01-10-18

straight ahead rock and roll....

I really enjoyed this book and the reading. Yes, I've been a fan of the 'mats for baby years, but any rock and roll fan will enjoy this.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc