This Is an AudioBook

  • by Demetri Martin
  • Narrated by Demetri Martin
  • 4 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From the renowned comedian, creator, star and executive producer/multiple title-holder of Comedy Central's Important Things with Demetri Martin comes a bold, original, and rectangular kind of humor book.
Demetri's first literary foray features longer-form essays and conceptual pieces (such as Protagonists' Hospital, a melodrama about the clinic doctors who treat only the flesh wounds and minor head scratches of Hollywood action heroes), as well as his trademark charts, doodles, drawings, one-liners, and lists (i.e., the world views of optimists, pessimists and contortionists), Martin's material is varied, but his unique voice and brilliant mind will keep listeners in stitches from beginning to end.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Loved it!

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Absolutely! I already have.

What does Demetri Martin bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

The delivery in his voice emphasizes the humor.

Any additional comments?

I wasn't sure about this as an audiobook, because his stand up involves a lot of visuals but this book was fantastic! Very witty and enjoyable, I will definitely listen to it again and again!

Read full review

- Carol

Light and Entertaining!

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

This offers short humorous and mind ticklng bits, so you will not get bored. I have listened to it repeatedly and will again. I hope Demetri Martin does more - love him!!!

What other book might you compare This Is an AudioBook to and why?

Bo Burman is smilar but a bit cruder and less refined.

Have you listened to any of Demetri Martin’s other performances before? How does this one compare?


Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?


Any additional comments?

Highly recommend!

Read full review

- Nicola

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-25-2011
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio