The Music Lesson

  • by Victor L. Wooten
  • Narrated by Victor L. Wooten
  • 7 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

"Boy, do I have a lot to learn!" Anyone who's ever picked up a musical instrument of any kind - from the first caveman banging rocks to that little kid at the guitar shop - has thought that. I know I did. I'd been trying for years to break in to the music scene, to show everyone my chops, to make my mark. And I was good. But I wasn't great. I knew that there was something wrong.
"Then the teacher showed up. I didn't ask for him. I didn't think I needed him. And all he said he could teach me was 'nothing'.
"What happened next, you may not believe...I sure didn't...but that didn't stop him."
The Music Lesson is the inspiring story of a young bass player and the lessons he learns about Life, Music, and the Life of Music. Throughout this audiobook is new, original music written by Victor Wooten and a bonus performance by the original supergroup Bela Fleck and the Flecktones.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Surprise like no other!

This buy was a shot in the dark. Never heard of Victor or this book. My expectations were very low. But I needed to motivate myself as I could not bring myself to practising my guitar. So I gave this one a try and Lord ... whata a find. I love how the words are backed by music in the background (although I find Mike's performance irritatingly overacted) and I can't get enough of the content. Music as mystery and invisible mighty force. No phony stuff and cheap superficial spiritualism (at least to my mind). That's what you will find there.
Read full review

- Tomas

Zen Bass

Any additional comments?

This is similar to the books 'Zen Guitar' and 'Effortless Mastery', except it focuses on a bass player instead of a guitar player. Another differentiator is that this audio book is punctuated with great music. (Except for the musical subvocalizations when 'Music' is speaking, which are really distracting). The stories are fantastical on purpose - he is trying to illustrate and emphasize his points about music (and life). The strictly literal minded will probably not like this book. Ditto for people who think "notes" are the end-all and be-all of music. Ditto for the people who only like one style of music and hold all other forms of musical expression in disdain. I think this book should be nearly required listening for all musicians. I've listened to it 3 times now. It is great.

Read full review

- Cath

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-01-2010
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio