The Concerto : The Great Courses: Fine Arts & Music

  • by The Great Courses
  • Narrated by Professor Robert Greenberg
  • Series: The Great Courses: Fine Arts & Music
  • 18 hrs and 56 mins
  • Lecture

Publisher's Summary

The concerto offers a kind of unique excitement no other instrumental music can match. Where a symphony enthralls us with its thematic variations and development, a concerto gives us human drama - the exhilaration of a soloist or group of soloists ringing forth against the mass of the orchestra.
In 24 musically rich lectures, Professor Greenberg provides a guided tour of the concerto, from its conception as a child of Renaissance ideals, through its maturation in the Classical age, its metamorphosis in the Romantic era, and its radical transformation in the 20th century and beyond.
You'll listen to selections from nearly 100 concerti from more than 60 composers - from Gabrieli to Gershwin, from Schumann to Shostakovich. Along with the bedrock of the repertoire - represented by Vivaldi, Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, Mendelssohn, Chopin, Schumann, Liszt, Brahms, Tchaikovsky, Dvorak, Rachmaninoff, Bartok, and many others - you are introduced to superb concerti by a host of less-familiar masters.
You'll study in depth some of the greatest and most beloved works of the genre, including Mozart's Concerto for Flute in G Major, K. 313; Haydn's Concerto for Trumpet in E-flat Major; Beethoven's Piano Concerto no. 4 in G Major, op. 58; Chopin's Piano Concerto no. 2 in F Minor, op. 21; Grieg's Piano Concerto in A Minor, op. 16; and Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto in D Major, op. 35.
Finally, you'll look at some notoriously esoteric and difficult 20th-century composers, including Arnold Schönberg and Elliott Carter, learning how their music is much more accessible than it appears.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Better than "How to Listen to...Great Music!"

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

This course is indispensable for anyone who enjoys concert or symphonic music. Dr. Greenberg's _How to Listen to and Understand Great Music_ was my introduction to The Teaching Company. I saved for years to be able to buy that introductory course, and have listened to it over and over. "The Concerto" is better still, because every moment of every lecture is on point and fascinates me.

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Concerto?

As a huge fan of Prokofiev, I was delighted that Dr. Greenberg spends time on the Russians, and particularly on my favorite Prokofiev concerti.

Have you listened to any of Professor Robert Greenberg’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

It is hard to imagine any performance better than these two courses. The jokes (while silly, sometimes) are amusing and Dr. Greenberg describes music in ways that really help me listen differently.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

As soon as I finished the course, I started it over again, for the sheer pleasure of learning more, going deeper, understanding ideas that I missed the first time.

Any additional comments?

I hope to be able to add more of Dr. Greenberg's courses to my audio library. "The Concerto" is a high point. I cannot imagine anyone being disappointed in this course. Get it! Listen to it! Enjoy it! You will thank me.

Read full review

- Victoria

And I am finally entering the 20th century willing

What does Professor Robert Greenberg bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

When I began "The Concerto" I thought it would be a traumatic experience. After all, when I began listening to Dr. G's lectures I had only two favorites--Bach and Mozart. Gradually, as I listened to "How to Listen to and Understand Great Music," I began to see more stars on the horizon. They weren't as bright, but they made lovely music. So I took baby steps through the Romantic Era and "Oh-my-goshed" at Schoenberg--but then I heard "To an Angel" by Berg and "The Tree of Dreams" by Dutilleux and Bartok's "Concerto for Orchestra" and I liked them! I never expected to enjoy modern composers so easily. I guess Dr. G did change my mind and my expectations.

Read full review

- JaneN

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-08-2013
  • Publisher: The Great Courses