Regular price: $19.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Jenna Fischer's Hollywood journey began at the age of 22 when she moved to Los Angeles from her hometown of St. Louis. With a theater degree in hand, she was determined, she was confident, she was ready to work hard. So, what could go wrong?
Uh, basically everything. The path to being a professional actor was so much more vast and competitive than she’d imagined. It would be eight long years before she landed her iconic role on The Office, nearly a decade of frustration, struggle, rejection, and doubt.
If only she’d had a handbook for the aspiring actor. Or, better yet, someone to show her the way—an established actor who could educate her about the business, manage her expectations, and reassure her in those moments of despair.
Jenna wants to be that person for you.   
With amusing candor and wit, Fischer spells out the nuts and bolts of getting established in the profession, based on her own memorable and hilarious experiences. She tells you how to get the right headshot, what to look for in representation, and the importance of joining forces with other like-minded artists and creating your own work—invaluable advice personally acquired from her many years of struggle. She provides helpful hints on how to be gutsy and take risks, the tricks to good auditioning and callbacks, and how not to fall for certain scams (auditions in a guy’s apartment are probably not legit—or at least not for the kind of part you’re looking for!).
Her inspiring, helpful guidance feels like a trusted friend who’s made the journey, and has now returned to walk beside you, pointing out the pitfalls as you blaze your own path towards the life of a professional actor.  
This title is narrated by a full cast. Narrators include: Jenna Fischer, Rainn Wilson, Natalie Zea, Sean Gunn, Derek Waters, Reed Birney, and Mark Proksch.
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your Library section along with the audio.
©2017 Andycat Productions Inc. (P)2017 Novel Audio Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Katelyn on 12-22-17

OMG THE INTRO! lol

HAhahahaHA
I've only listened to the first few chapters so far but I wanted to write my review now because I don't think I've ever enjoyed an audiobook's introduction this much before! Rainn Wilson reads it, but it was written by Steve Carell and hilarity ensues. I won't spoil it, but it's soooo funny.
So far, Jenna's chapters are really great, too! I can see how this would be helpful for people who want to become actors, but I am still enjoying it as someone who does not. It's a little bit memoir-y because she shares a lot of personal anecdotes. Her narration is great, too! As a fan of The Office, it's fun to hear things from her perspective as a real life person, not as the character that I think a lot of people still see her as (Pam). That being said, she does seem to share some similarities with her famous character and that is just so super endearing.
She honestly seems so sweet and listening to this really makes me love her even more! I'll finish this one quickly because it is (so far) a great listen.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful


By Taylor on 12-22-17

Perfect for Jenna Fischer/The Office fans!!

Would you listen to The Actor's Life again? Why?

Yes! I'm a huge fan of The Office and it was so cool to hear what it was like on set. I loved Jenna's telling of the Pam/Jim first kiss!

What does Jenna Fischer Rainn Wilson Natalie Zea Sean Gunn Derek Waters Reed Birney Mark Proksch bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Since the book is part memoir, it was great to hear her read it. It was also awesome that the interview part at the end with her actor friends was actually read by the actors and Jenna!

Any additional comments?

A must listen for fans of Jenna Fischer, The Office and aspiring actors alike! Or even if you've ever wondered what struggling actors in Hollywood really go through!

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc