• Meet McKinney's Cotton Pickers

  • Part One, Two, and Three (Dramatized)
  • By: Guy Rathbun
  • Narrated by: Guy Rathbun
  • Length: 2 hrs and 56 mins
  • Radio/TV Program
  • Release date: 04-09-08
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Audio Movie Studio
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars 4.6 (5 ratings)

Regular price: $21.00

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $21.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A documentary about the celebrated 1920's group, featuring the fully re-mastered music of this classic band and its stars: Don Redman, Cuba Austin, John Nesbitt, Claude Jones, George Thomas, Prince Robinson, Dave Wilborn, Todd Rhodes, Milton Senior and Ralph Escudero. Plus Lonnie Johnson and members of the Jean Goldkette Orchestra.
©2007 Guy Rathbun; (P)2007 Guy Rathbun
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By M. J. Christensen on 10-09-12

Meet Some Jazz Greats!

Excellent preview of the seminal jazz group, McKinney's Cotton Pickers. Guy Rathbun introduces the group's members and its music in mostly chronological order - starting with their RCA Victor recording sessions in 1927 up through 1930. Although I was familar with a few of their recordings, It was definitely worthwhile to hear many of these sessions with commentary. Rathbun relates a few anecdotes and introduces each song with who was playing and a hint of what to listen for during the piece. I was especially interested in the group's version of Hoagy Carmichael's "Stardust" which was an uptempo version (the way Hoagy had originally written it) and featured bluesman Lonnie Johnson on guitar. This and some of the other songs highlighted listed the group as "The Chocolate Dandies" because they were recorded at the Okeh recording studio against their contract with Victor. Later some of their recordings featured a young Benny Carter and Coleman Hawkins. Rathbun's enthusiasm for the music came through clearly in his commentary and I gained a further appreciation for the group's musicianship and innovation. A wonderful listen and I wanted more!

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc