Conductor's Guide to Beethoven's Symphony No. 5 & Piano Concerto No. 4

  • by Gerard Schwarz
  • Narrated by Gerard Schwarz
  • 1 hrs and 14 mins
  • Speech

Publisher's Summary

The work of Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) has been called the culmination of the Classical era or the wellspring of the Romantic era in European music. Historians today see him as the heir of Haydn and Mozart, carrying their musical discoveries to a new level of complexity and integration. But the generations of composers that followed Beethoven saw him more as the headstrong radical, breaking the shackles of classicism and showing new possibilities for music. The Musically Speaking Conductor's Guides are your link to an appreciation of the greatest classical music ever performed. Let Maestro Gerard Schwarz enrich your classical music listening enjoyment by illuminating the great works of the Masters with revealing commentary and educational insight.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


This is a wonderful description of the music and events taking place within the most famous symphony written. I enjoyed listening to it once and then again...some of the most delightful hours that I have ever spent
Read full review

- proton

This is simply GREAT!

Any additional comments?

I have loved Beethoven's music for many decades. But Mr. Schwartz's lesson here has raised my appreciation for this genius and his multidimensional talents to heights of which I have never dreamed. This little book is wonderful.

Read full review

- James Bath

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-22-2005
  • Publisher: Musically Speaking, Inc.