Beer Drinkers and Hell Raisers

  • by Martin Popoff
  • Narrated by A. T. Chandler
  • 8 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Beer Drinkers and Hell Raisers is the first book to celebrate the classic-era Motörhead lineup of Lemmy Kilmister, "Fast" Eddie Clarke, and Phil "Philthy Animal" Taylor. Through interviews with all of the principal troublemakers, Martin Popoff celebrates the formation of the band and the records that made them legends: Motörhead, Overkill, Bomber, Ace of Spades, No Sleep 'til Hammersmith, and Iron Fist. An in-depth coda brings the story up to date with the shocking recent deaths of Taylor and Kilmister.
Motörhead comes to life in this book as bad-luck bad boys - doused in drink and drugs, most notably speed - incapable of running their lives right save for Fast Eddie, who is charged with holding things together. Popoff also examines the heady climate of music through the band's rise to prominence during the New Wave of British heavy metal, with detailed reflection on Motörhead's unique position in the scene as both originators and embattled survivors who carried on the renegade spirit of those times.


What the Critics Say

"Martin has the most thorough knowledge of heavy metal of anybody I've ever met." (Dee Snider, Twisted Sister frontman)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Awesome book

This is a great piece, it gets into deep corners of what is Motorhead. I love it, it covers the beginnings . Hope that they will release another about later years of the greatest rock and roll band on earth. Cheers
Read full review

- Artur

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-16-2017
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio