A Tribe Called Quest's 'People's Instinctive Travels and the Paths of Rhythm' (33 1/3 Series)

  • by Shawn Taylor
  • Narrated by Mirror Willis
  • 3 hrs and 0 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

One of the finest hip-hop albums ever made, A Tribe Called Quest's debut record (featuring stone-cold classics like "Can I Kick It?" and "Bonita Applebum") took the idea of the boasting hip-hop male and turned it on its head. For many listeners, when this non-traditional, surprisingly feminine album was released, it was like hearing an entirely new form of music.
In this book, Shawn Taylor explores the creation of the album as well as the impact it had on him at the time - a 17-year-old high-school geek who was equally into hip-hop, punk, new wave, skateboarding, and Dungeons & Dragons: all of a sudden, with this one album, the world made more sense. He has spent many years investigating this album, from the packaging to the song placement to each and every sample. Shawn Taylor knows this record like he knows his tattoos, and he's finally been able to write a fascinating and highly entertaining book about it.


Audible Editor Reviews

Combining memoir and music criticism, Shawn Taylor writes an intimate account of the band A Tribe Called Quest's impact on himself and his generation, coming of age in the early '90's. Part of the 33 1/3 series, this book investigates the band's influence on the music scene, bringing as it did a new "feminine" twist to the rap music conventions of the time. Listeners will enjoy Mirror Willis' easy, conversational rendition of this book, and the intimate way in which author Shawn Taylor situates this album in time and popular culture.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-26-2012
  • Publisher: Audible Studios