LISTENER

Sean Dustman

Oak Harbor
  • 19
  • reviews
  • 134
  • helpful votes
  • 420
  • ratings
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-17-18

a new old world

I've been a long time fan of the Emberverse and sighed when I heard he was writing a historical novel but was instead drawn into a detailed and stark what if of the time around WWI with a heroine of James Bonds caliber. Every word drips with meaning and you can tell he cared about this novel and with an author of Mr. Sterling's talent, this shines. If you are on the fence, get it.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-25-17

Mix of SciFi and Fantasy in a great new world

Evan is one of my favorite builders of worlds and here, he steps into new grounds. The setting is a wasted Earth that you are unsure if it takes place in a far off future or a very distant past. Demons have wiped out most of humanity and what is left is a shadow of what used to be.

The demons are inter dimensional intruders and I take it, so are angels, the world is covered with relics of heights that man rose and the tools left behind. The main character is a girl named Ella, who grew up in hiding in the middle of this wasteland and bad things happen as things do and she grows up.

Go ahead and buy it, you won't be disappointed.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-24-17

David Gemmell finally on Audible!!

If you are a reader, in your life certain books carry weight and stick to the grey matter inside of your head long after you lay down the book. After you read them, switches turn inside of your head and your outlook on the world changes.

David Gemmell writes just like that and the audible version seems to carry the cadence and impact of the written book. Buy it and hold on.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-12-17

Recluse lovers, this is for you

This might just be the best companion book to a series that I have ever read/listened to. Instead of feeling like short stories, this feels like extensions onto the novels of things that were hinted at or left hanging. Minor characters are given voice, reason and life and a different perspective on the Chaos Order balance.

If the series speak to you, you will love this book. And not a single hedge row.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-21-16

Fans of John Dies in the End, Zombieland

The Jamaicans have caused the world and one of the two heroes of this story, Patrick has decided that he was wanted to make that trip he had always planned to Disney World from Chicago and take his trusty sidekick Ben along for the journey.

Something that isn't mentioned anywhere in the book, everybody has their own flavor of craziness. The book is a travel journal funny, sad and full of dark humor interspaced with pop culture references in brought about in ways that are unexpected. Barry Bonds makes a great cameo which I totally agree with.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-21-16

Evan Currie cranks it up a notch

In a setting that seems to take place on a Dyson Sphere, sometime in the far distant future, the entire series seems to take place on a walled off reservation for humans. In book one, there is a coup against the ruling family and one two of the children survive the attack. This book is how they react to the rebellion and hints at what might be the reason behind the rebellion.

This is a world unlike any other in science fiction, how would people survive on a place with little natural resources and leaves you wondering how they came there. Who made the world?

Great world building, tight action and technologies that make you think. Like his other series, Odyssey One, Evan takes it to the edge of what is possible and expands on it. Looking forward to anything that he publishes in the future.

Read More Hide me

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-18-15

I have never read To Kill a Mockingbird

Till earlier this week, unlike most of you who started out there reading career with this book in high school or junior high, I came at it from the other side. After reading thousands of books then going back and reading what some people consider their favorite novel. Then I went on immediately to read, Go Set a Watchman (stop here if you don’t want spoilers).

Both are novels of their time with many of the same characters, one told through the eyes of an intelligent observant little girl over the period of a couple of years, a coming of age story. The other over a period of a couple of days of the same girl, 26 and a bit jaded who comes home to visit after living years in New York.

In Mockingbird, Atticus through her eyes is an almost supernatural being of good whom always has the most ethical response to any given issue and young impressionable Scout takes that into herself. The novel was richly worded with descriptions that made you think of hot summers spent on the porch, how children viewed the world around them.

In Watchman, Scout comes home and her illusions are torn away, the civil rights movement is just starting and people in her hometown are taking sides which are divided along color lines. Scout is way ahead of her time, she was raised by Atticus and tends to see people as people, not color but in that time and place, color and social status are everything.

While I enjoyed Watchman, it seems like Harper Lee didn’t write it for our enjoyment, she wrote it to document a portion of her life. It’s not as polished and for fans who hold To Kill a Mockingbird in their hearts, portions of it are painful and raw, Scout has grown up, she’s not much of a lady but she carried the values that were taught to her as a little girl into adulthood and now she’s seeing her small southern town with eyes that have seen the world and is not a happy camper.

She is the moral compass of this story and at the end, you don’t know where she is going in life. The case against Tom Robinson is mentioned but it says it’s an acquittal in Watchman. Jem, who is such a pivotal character in Mockingbird has died young, Dill is off in some foreign land and Boo didn’t make the cut. This fills in the story but I’m not sure if it offers actual answers.

Mockingbird rings with Robert McCammon’s Boy’s Life and Watchman reminds me of all of
the times I went home and that life had continued on without me, people growing up and changing and living their own lives, not the snapshot I carried of that place I grew up in my head.

Read More Hide me

0 of 2 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-23-14

Story starts off small and gets huge

Every once in a while, a story comes along and sweeps me away, this was one of them. This is a huge expansive story that started out with a dream of a boy that ends up challenging everything we see around us and who we are as humans in the universe. It's a slow building story that keeps cranking up over decades and leaves you wondering what is going to happen next and what does happen you don't expect. The author doesn't take the easy way out, the guy guy doesn't always win. It's a mixture of philosophy, hard SciFi, a love story and it stretches the brain. Check it out, it might leave you changed like all great books should.

Read More Hide me

51 of 52 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-21-13

An information intense fantasy download

This is the first book of the Hellequin series that opens a door in to a fully fleshed world that lives underneath the skin of ours. I purchased this on Audible because it popped up on my feed based on other fantasy that I had purchased and it had good reviews and was cheap, like 7.34 cheap for an almost 11 hour book.

What can go wrong?

In the present, the main character, Nate Garrett, had woke up 10 years a prior with no memory of who he was and found out that he can do magic and has since turned into a magical thief for hire. Then the next chapter takes place in the middle ages and he is a warrior sorcerer who is the is the hit man for Merlin. In the present, his past catches up with him and the stories come together to something that links these two times together.

This book was information dense, meaning if I wasn’t paying attention, I would miss plot points. I tend to fall asleep with my MP3 player on a 15 minute timer and this book kept me up for hours past my bedtime resetting the timer. This is sort of the way I judge audiobooks, this was fast paced, the plot twists were devious and what plot holes it had were totally left there intentionally. I’m looking forward to the rest of the series.

Advice? Pick it up while it’s still cheap in any format and hold on.

Read More Hide me

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-12-13

I judge books by how late they keep me up

I have a sleep timer on my MP3 player that I set for 15 minutes when I go to bed, Callis Rose kept me up for 2 hours past bed time. Callis Rose is a girl who finds out early in life that she can control the physical actions of people around her, mostly when threatened and almost every time she uses her power, bad things happen. Mostly by chance and she's a sweet girl that he gets you to care about who takes care of the people around her but she keeps handed a bad hand and then there was a straw the broke the camels back.

Good job Mark, as usual, I ate it up. This isn't for the faint of heart, it shows what happens to a person when you push them beyond the breaking point.

Read More Hide me

9 of 9 people found this review helpful