Wayne Grant

Wayne Grant

Wayne Grant grew up in a tiny cotton town in rural Louisiana where hunting, fishing and farming were a way of life. Between chopping cotton, dove hunting and Little League ball he developed a love of great adventure stories like Call It Courage and Kidnapped.

Like most southern boys of that era, he saw the military as an honorable and adventurous career. Every living male member of his family had served in the Army covering World Wars I and II, Korea and Vietnam, so it was a natural step for him to attend and graduate from West Point. He just missed Vietnam, but found that life as a Captain, in an army broken by that war, was not what he wanted.

After tours in Germany and Korea, he returned to Louisiana and civilian life where he began a 10 year career in government including four years as a senior official in the Pentagon during the Reagan administration. During those years he saw the Army reborn from its post-Vietnam nadir to the outstanding force it became and remains today. Through it all he retained his love of great adventure writing and when he had two sons he began telling them stories before bedtime. Those stories became his first novel, Longbow.

The Saga of Roland Inness series began as the coming-of-age tale of a fourteen-year-old boy who possessed extraordinary talent with a longbow. It is a story of courage, loyalty, honor and treachery. Most of all, it a story of high adventure set in a time so filled with drama it has spawned legends that fascinate people to this day. It is the time of Richard the Lionheart, Robin Hood, Eleanor of Aquitaine and William Marshall, legendary figures all--some real and some fictional.

The Saga of Roland Inness begins with four books--Longbow, Warbow, The Broken Realm and The Ransomed Crown. These four books are the coming-of-age story I set out to tell. Having told that tale, I fully intended to move on to other stories, but something unexpected happened. Readers all over the world found something special in Roland Inness and his companions and wanted more. I'd grown rather fond of my boy with the longbow as well and knew there were more stories to tell. So the Saga continues. A Prince of Wales, the fifth in the series was published in November, 2017. A new Roland Inness adventure will be out in summer, 2018.

If you would like to know more about the author or get updates on new books, visit his webpage at www.waynegrantbooks.com or the Longbow Facebook page, www.facebook.com/Longbowbooks/ .

Read more Read less

Best Sellers

Are you an author?

Help us improve our Author Pages by updating your bibliography and submitting a new or current image and biography.
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc